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MF 12-02 
Tax Type: Motor Fuel Use Tax 
Tax Issue: Failure To Have Motor Fuel Use Tax Decal/Permit 

 
STATE OF ILLINOIS 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 
 
 
 
THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE   
OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS    
        Docket #  XXXXX 
  v.      Acct ID: XXXXX 
        Letter ID:  XXXXX 
JOHN DOE               

      
   Taxpayer      
 
 

RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 
 
Appearances:  Matthew Crain, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the Department of 
Revenue of the State of Illinois; John Doe, pro se 
 
Synopsis: 

 The Department of Revenue ("Department") issued a Notice of Tax Liability 

("NTL") to John Doe ("taxpayer") for motor fuel use tax.  The NTL alleges that the 

taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without appropriate 

credentials (i.e., valid motor fuel use tax license, Illinois single-trip permit, IFTA 

temporary permit, or required decals) pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax 

Act (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  The NTL assesses a penalty of $1,000.  The taxpayer timely 

protested the NTL, and a hearing was held.  During the hearing, the taxpayer argued that 

the penalty should not be imposed because he had an Iowa trip permit and he did not 

have a trailer attached to the truck when he was driving through the State of Illinois.  
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After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this matter be resolved in favor of the 

Department. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. On August 11, 2011, the taxpayer was operating a 3-axle, 2007 Freightliner truck 

in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license.  (Dept. Ex. #1; Taxpayer Ex. 

#1; Tr. p. 9). 

2. On August 26, 2011, the Department issued an NTL to the taxpayer for motor fuel 

use tax showing a penalty due of $1,000 for failure to have a valid license while 

operating the vehicle on August 11, 2011.  The NTL was admitted into evidence 

under the certification of the Director of the Department.  (Dept. Ex. #1). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 The NTL issued by the Department alleges that the taxpayer was found operating 

a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license and 

decals pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (“Act”) (35 ILCS 505/1 et 

seq.), which provides, in part, as follows: 

Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall 
operate in Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and 
decals from the Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals 
issued under the International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member 
jurisdiction….  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4). 
 

Section 13a.5 provides an exception for motor carriers holding a single trip permit.  (35 

ILCS 505/13a.5).  A "motor carrier" is defined as any person who operates a commercial 

motor vehicle in Illinois.  (35 ILCS 505/1.17).  The Act defines "commercial motor 

vehicle" as follows: 

[A] motor vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of 
persons or property and either having 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or 
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registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds …, or having 3 
or more axles regardless of weight, or that is used in combination, when 
the weight of the combination exceeds 26,000 pounds …, except for motor 
vehicles operated by this State or the United States, recreational vehicles, 
school buses, and commercial motor vehicles operated solely within this 
State for which all motor fuel is purchased within this State….   (35 ILCS 
505/1.16). 
 

Section 13a.4 of the Act also provides that the motor fuel use tax license shall be carried 

in the cab of each vehicle.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  Section 13a.6 of the Act states that if a 

commercial motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without registering and securing a 

valid motor fuel use tax license, then the person required to obtain a license or permit 

under Section 13a.4 or 13a.5 of the Act must pay a minimum of $1,000 as a penalty.  (35 

ILCS 505/13a.6(b)). 

 Section 21 of the Act incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers' 

Occupation Tax Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which provides that the Department's 

determination of the amount of tax owed is prima facie correct and prima facie evidence 

of the correctness of the amount of tax due.  35 ILCS 505/21; 120/5.  Once the 

Department has established its prima facie case, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove 

by sufficient documentary evidence that the assessment is incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, 

Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1st Dist. 1991); Lakeland 

Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 (2nd Dist. 

1978).  

 In this case, the Department's prima facie case was established when the 

Department's certified copy of the NTL was admitted into evidence.  In response, the 

taxpayer argues that the penalty should not be imposed because he had picked up the 

truck in Iowa and had an Iowa trip permit that he thought would allow him to pass 
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through Illinois.  He indicated that he did not have a trailer attached to the truck when he 

was driving through Illinois, and he purchased an Illinois single-trip permit when he was 

stopped by the officer in Illinois. 

 The taxpayer’s arguments, unfortunately, do not warrant a dismissal of the 

penalty.  Under section 1.16 of the Act, the definition of "commercial motor vehicle" 

includes a truck having 3 or more axles, regardless of weight.  The taxpayer admitted that 

his truck had 3 axles, and the taxpayer’s truck is, therefore, required to have a motor fuel 

use tax license and decals pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Act.  The taxpayer’s truck still 

falls within the definition of commercial motor vehicle even though the truck was not 

pulling a trailer.  Because the Iowa trip permit is not an IFTA permit, and the Illinois 

single-trip permit was not purchased until after the taxpayer was stopped, the taxpayer 

did not have the appropriate credentials when he was stopped.  In addition, the statute 

does not include a provision that allows for the abatement of the penalty due to 

reasonable cause.  Therefore, the fact that the taxpayer thought he was in compliance 

with the law does not allow for the abatement of the penalty. 

 For the foregoing reasons, it is recommended that the Notice of Tax Liability be 

affirmed in its entirety. 

    
   Linda Olivero 
Enter: August 27, 2012 Administrative Law Judge 
 


