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MF 12-03 
Tax Type: Motor Fuel Use Tax 
Tax Issue: Failure To Have Motor Fuel Use Tax Decal/Permit 

 
STATE OF ILLINOIS 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 
 
 
THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE   
OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS    
        Docket #  XXXXX 
  v.      Acct ID:  XXXXX 
        Letter ID:  XXXXX 
JOHN DOE d/b/a ABC BUSINESS      
            Taxpayer      
 
 

RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 
 
Appearances:  Matthew Crain, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the Department of 
Revenue of the State of Illinois; John Doe, pro se 
 
Synopsis: 

 The Department of Revenue ("Department") issued a Notice of Tax Liability ("NTL") to 

John Doe d/b/a ABC Business ("taxpayer") for motor fuel use tax.  The NTL alleges that the 

taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without appropriate credentials 

(i.e., valid motor fuel use tax license, Illinois single-trip permit, IFTA temporary permit, or 

required decals) pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  The 

NTL assesses a penalty of $1,000.  The taxpayer timely protested the NTL, and a hearing was 

held.  During the hearing, the taxpayer argued that the penalty assessed should not be imposed 

because he followed the laws of the State of Georgia and was told by employees of the 

Department of Transportation (“DOT”) and the Department of Revenue (“DOR”) in the State of 
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Georgia that he did not need any of the credentials.  After reviewing the record, it is 

recommended that this matter be resolved in favor of the Department. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. On August 15, 2011, the taxpayer was operating a 3-axle truck/tractor in Illinois without 

a valid motor fuel use tax license.  (Dept. Ex. #1; Tr. pp. 7, 11). 

2. On August 26, 2011, the Department issued an NTL to the taxpayer for motor fuel use 

tax showing a penalty due of $1,000 for failure to have a valid license or decals while 

operating the vehicle on August 15, 2011.  The NTL was admitted into evidence under 

the certification of the Director of the Department.  (Dept. Ex. #1). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 The NTL issued by the Department alleges that the taxpayer was found operating a 

commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license and decals 

pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (“Act”) (35 ILCS 505/1 et seq.), which 

provides, in part, as follows: 

Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall operate in 
Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and decals from the 
Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals issued under the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member jurisdiction….  (35 ILCS 
505/13a.4). 
 

Section 13a.5 provides an exception for motor carriers holding a single trip permit.  (35 ILCS 

505/13a.5).  A "motor carrier" is defined as any person who operates a commercial motor vehicle 

in Illinois.  (35 ILCS 505/1.17).  The Act defines "commercial motor vehicle" as follows: 

[A] motor vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of persons 
or property and either having 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered 
gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds …, or having 3 or more axles 
regardless of weight, or that is used in combination, when the weight of the 
combination exceeds 26,000 pounds …, except for motor vehicles operated by 
this State or the United States, recreational vehicles, school buses, and 
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commercial motor vehicles operated solely within this State for which all motor 
fuel is purchased within this State….   (35 ILCS 505/1.16). 
 

Section 13a.4 of the Act also provides that the motor fuel use tax license shall be carried in the 

cab of each vehicle.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  Section 13a.6 of the Act states that if a commercial 

motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without registering and securing a valid motor fuel 

use tax license, then the person required to obtain a license or permit under Section 13a.4 or 

13a.5 of the Act must pay a minimum of $1,000 as a penalty.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.6(b)). 

 Section 21 of the Act incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax 

Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which provides that the Department's determination of the amount 

of tax owed is prima facie correct and prima facie evidence of the correctness of the amount of 

tax due.  35 ILCS 505/21; 120/5.  Once the Department has established its prima facie case, the 

burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove by sufficient documentary evidence that the assessment is 

incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1st Dist. 

1991); Lakeland Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 

(2nd Dist. 1978).  

 In this case, the Department's prima facie case was established when the Department's 

certified copy of the NTL was admitted into evidence.  In response, the taxpayer argues that the 

penalty should not be imposed because he followed the laws of the State of Georgia and was told 

by employees of the DOT there that he did not need a license or decals because his truck was 

pulling a recreational vehicle (“RV”).  He said his trailer is titled as an RV.  He testified that the 

only reason why he purchased the truck with the third axle on it was so that he had more braking 

power for the trailer.  He purchased the truck four years ago and has never had a problem with 

IFTA credentials before, so he thought he was in full compliance with the law.  He also said that 

the trailer contains his personal items because he uses that as his home when he is traveling.  The 
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taxpayer said that in addition to the employees at the DOT, employees at the DOR in the State of 

Georgia also told him that he did not need IFTA decals.  He said he was finally able to obtain the 

license and decals, so he is currently in compliance with the law. 

 The taxpayer’s arguments, unfortunately, do not warrant a dismissal of the penalty.  

Under section 1.16 of the Act, the definition of "commercial motor vehicle" includes a truck 

having 3 or more axles, regardless of weight.  The taxpayer admitted that the truck had 3 axles, 

and the taxpayer’s truck is, therefore, required to have a motor fuel use tax license and decals 

pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Act.  The exception in the definition for RVs would apply if the 

RV was the only vehicle that the taxpayer was driving.  Because the taxpayer used a 3-axle truck 

to pull his RV, the truck must have the IFTA credentials.  In addition, the statute does not 

include a provision that allows for the abatement of the penalty due to reasonable cause.  

Therefore, the fact that the taxpayer received the wrong information concerning the motor fuel 

license requirements does not allow for the abatement of the penalty. 

 For the foregoing reasons, it is recommended that the Notice of Tax Liability be affirmed 

in its entirety. 

  
   Linda Olivero 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 
Enter:  August 27, 2012 
 


