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Synopsis: 
 
 On April 7, 2008, the Illinois Department of Revenue (“Department”) issued to 

Jane Doe (“taxpayer”) a Notice of Tax Liability (“NTL”) for use tax due.  The basis of 

the assessment was the Department’s determination that the taxpayer had not paid use tax 

on a motor vehicle purchased on December 3, 2005.  On May 14, 2008, the taxpayer 

protested this assessment and requested a hearing.  An evidentiary hearing was held on 

January 13, 2009 in Chicago, Illinois with John Doe testifying on the taxpayer’s behalf.  
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James Barborka of the Department testified on behalf of the Department.  The record in 

this case also includes documentary evidence submitted by the parties.   Following a 

review of the testimony and evidence submitted by the taxpayer and the Department, it is 

recommended that the Department’s NTL showing a use tax liability of $981, plus a late 

filing penalty and a late payment penalty, be finalized as issued.  In support thereof, the 

following “Findings of Fact” and “Conclusions of Law” are made.   

 

Findings of Fact: 

1. The Department’s prima facie case, inclusive of all jurisdictional elements, was 

established by the admission into evidence of the Department’s SC-10-K, Audit 

Correction and/or Determination of Tax Due, and the Department’s NTL number 00 

0000000000000 showing a tax liability of $1,330, including penalties and interest 

calculated through April 7, 2008.  Department Exhibit (“Ex.”) 1, 2. 

2. On December 3, 2005, the taxpayer and her husband, John Doe, purchased a 2006 

Audi A4 motor vehicle (the “motor vehicle”) an Illinois automobile retail dealership 

located in Anywhere, Illinois.  Department Ex. 3 (ST-556 Sales Tax Transaction 

Return signed by the taxpayer); Taxpayer’s Ex. 1. 

3. At the time of the purchase, the taxpayer and her husband were legal residents of 

Illinois, having their principal residence in Anywhere, Illinois.  Hearing Transcript 

(“Tr.”) pp. 6, 13; Department Ex. 4 (Taxpayer’s Federal form 1040 showing her 

principal residence address in 2005).  The taxpayer held an Illinois driver’s license at 

that time.  Tr. p. 12; Department Ex. 5.  The taxpayer and her husband also owned 

homes in Wisconsin and in California at that time.  Tr. p. 13; Taxpayer’s Ex. 1. 
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4. The motor vehicle was delivered to the taxpayer and her husband at the Illinois Audi 

dealership from which the motor vehicle was purchased on December 3, 2005.  

Department Ex. 3.  Subsequent to its acquisition by the taxpayer and her husband, the 

motor vehicle has been kept principally at the taxpayer’s home in Wisconsin.  Tr. p. 

13. 

5. Illinois Audi issued no Illinois license plates to the taxpayer at the time the motor 

vehicle was purchased and did not register this vehicle in Illinois.  Tr. pp. 13-16.  In 

lieu of the foregoing, the dealer affixed Wisconsin license plates to the motor vehicle 

from a 2002 Audi Jeep owned by the taxpayer which the taxpayer traded-in for the 

motor vehicle at the time it was purchased.  Id.; Department Ex. 3, 4. 

6. Subsequent to the motor vehicle’s arrival in Wisconsin, the taxpayer applied for a 

Wisconsin title and registration for the motor vehicle.  Taxpayer’s Ex. 1.  On her 

application for a Wisconsin title, the taxpayer and her husband listed as their address 

XXXXXXX, XXXXXX, Wisconsin.  Id.   

7. In connection with their registration of the motor vehicle in Wisconsin, the taxpayer 

paid tax on the motor vehicle to the State of Wisconsin.  Tr. pp. 14, 17. 

 

Conclusions of Law: 

 Under the Use Tax Act (“UTA”), 35 ILCS 105/1 et seq., Illinois imposes a tax on 

the privilege of using in Illinois tangible personal property purchased at retail from a 

retailer.  35 ILCS 105/3.  The use tax is a corollary to the retailers’ occupation tax 

(“ROT”) which is a tax on persons engaged in the business of selling at retail tangible 
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personal property. 35 ILCS 105/2.  The UTA was passed to compliment and prevent 

evasion of the ROT.  Needle Co. v Department of Revenue, 45 Ill. 2d 484 (1970). 

 The use tax is imposed at the same rate as the ROT.   Compare 35 ILCS 105/3-10 

and 35 ILCS 120/2-10. The rate of the use tax after December 31, 1989 is 6.25% of the 

selling price of tangible personal property.  Id.   The retailers’ failure to collect tax from 

the purchaser does not prevent the Department from collecting the tax directly from the 

purchaser. 86 Ill. Admin. Code, ch. I, section 150.130.  (“If the user purchases the 

tangible personal property at retail from a retailer, but does not pay the Use Tax to such 

retailer, the purchaser shall pay the Use Tax directly to the Department.”).   

The facts at issue in the instant case are not in dispute.  In December 2005, the 

taxpayers purchased a 2006 Audi A4 from Illinois Audi, an Illinois automobile dealer 

located in Anywhere, Illinois.  Department Ex 3; Taxpayer’s Ex. 1.  The form ST-556 

completed by the seller and filed with the Department to report the sale avers that the 

vehicle was exempt from tax because it was sold to “an out-of-state buyer.”  Department 

Ex. 3. Consequently, the taxpayers did not pay Illinois retailers’ occupation tax to the 

dealer on the purchase.  Id.   Mr. Doe testified that he and his wife, the taxpayer, followed 

instructions given them by the car dealer who advised them that they should pay use tax 

in Wisconsin because they were going to register the motor vehicle there.  Tr. p. 14. 

 On the merits, the taxpayer defends against the NTL asserting that the taxpayer’s 

purchase of the motor vehicle was exempt pursuant to the state’s multistate exemption 

prescribed by section 3-55 of the Illinois UTA, 35 ILCS 105/3-55.   Specifically, the 

taxpayer premises her claim of exemption on section 3-55(h) of the UTA, which provides 

as follows: 
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§ 3-55.  Multistate exemption.  The tax imposed by this Act does not 
apply to the use of tangible personal property in this State under the 
following circumstances:    
… 
 
(h) The use, in this State, of a motor vehicle that was sold in this State 

to a nonresident, even though the motor vehicle is delivered to the 
nonresident in this State, if the motor vehicle is not to be titled in 
this State, and if a driveaway decal permit is issued to the motor 
vehicle as provided in Section 3-603 of the Illinois Vehicle Code 
or if the nonresident purchaser has vehicle registration plates to 
transfer to the motor vehicle upon returning to his or her home 
state.  The issuance of the driveaway decal permit or having the 
out-of-state registration plates to be transferred shall be prima facie 
evidence that the motor vehicle will not be titled in this State.   
35 ILCS 105/3-55(h) 

 
The taxpayer claims that she kept the motor vehicle at a residence she and her husband 

owned located in Wisconsin.  For this reason, the taxpayer contends that the exemption 

prescribed by section 3-55(h) is applicable in this case.  Tr. pp. 14-16.   

  Section 3-55(h), by its terms, is applicable only to “nonresidents.”  The taxpayer 

has admitted that, at the time she purchased the motor vehicle, she was a resident of 

Illinois, even though she and her husband owned homes in Wisconsin and  California and 

spent a considerable amount of time outside of the state of Illinois at these residences.  

Tr. p. 13. 

 The taxpayer’s status as a resident for purposes of applying section 3-55(h) is 

confirmed by regulation 86 Ill. Admin. Code, ch. I, section 130.605(b) which states in 

part as follows: 

(1) …[T]he tax is not imposed upon the sale of a motor vehicle in this 
State even though the motor vehicle is delivered in this State, if all 
of the following conditions are met:  the motor vehicle is sold to a 
nonresident; the motor vehicle is not to be titled in this State; and 
either a drive-away permit for purposes of transporting the motor 
vehicle to a destination outside of Illinois is issued to the motor 
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vehicle as provided by section 3-603 of the Illinois Vehicle Code 
[625 ILCS 5/3-603], or the nonresident purchaser has non-Illinois 
vehicle registration plates to transfer to the motor vehicle upon 
transporting the vehicle outside of Illinois.  The issuance of the 
drive-away permit or having the out-of-state registration plates to 
be transferred is prima facie evidence that the motor vehicle will 
not be titled in this State.  … 

(A)  Documentation of nonresidency.  The exemption under subsection 
(b) (1) is available only to nonresidents.  A vehicle purchased by an 
Illinois resident is not eligible for the exemption (even if the purchaser 
is only a part-time Illinois resident or has dual residency in Illinois and 
another state, and, in the case of more than one purchaser, even if only 
one of the purchasers is an Illinois resident).  … i) when the purchaser 
is a natural person, the best evidence of nonresidence is a non-Illinois 
driver’s license.   

 

The record indicates that the taxpayer possessed an Illinois driver’s license rather than a 

non-Illinois driver’s license.  Tr. p. 12; Department Ex. 5. Pursuant to regulation section 

130.605(b) noted above, the taxpayer’s Illinois driver’s license is clear evidence that she 

was a resident of Illinois for purposes of the multistate exemption provision the taxpayer 

relies upon. 

   As noted in the case of Hatcher v. Anders, 117 Ill. App. 3d 236 (2d Dist. 1983), a 

case addressing who is a “resident” under the Illinois Vehicle Code (35 ILCS 5/1-100 et 

seq.)  which governs vehicle registration:  

 
[A] person can have only one domicile or permanent residence and 
once it is established it is retained until a new domicile is acquired.  
(citations omitted).  Affirmative acts must be proved to sustain the 
abandonment of an Illinois residence and a temporary absence from the  
 
state, no matter now protracted, does not equate to “abandonment.”  … 
Only when abandonment has been proven is residency lost.  (citations 
omitted). 
Hatcher, supra at 239. 
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Accordingly, the taxpayer could not simultaneously be a resident of Illinois to which the 

taxpayer admits, and a resident of Wisconsin for purposes of applying section 3-55(h) of 

the UTA.  Since section 3-55(h) is only applicable to non-residents, it is inapplicable to 

the taxpayer, an Illinois resident.  Accordingly, the dealer erred in preparing the ST-556 

reporting the taxpayer’s purchase which showed no tax due on account of the taxpayer’s 

non-resident status, and erred in failing to collect tax from the taxpayer and her husband.  

However, as noted above, the retailers’ failure to properly collect tax from the purchaser 

does not prevent the imposition of tax properly due and owing upon the purchaser, as the 

Department has done in this case.  

 The taxpayer also argues that if the tax is found to be properly assessed, she 

should be allowed a credit toward her Illinois liability based upon her payment of taxes in 

Wisconsin at the time she registered the motor vehicle there.  However, the taxpayer has 

offered no statutory or case law to support her position regarding her right to a credit.  To 

this argument, the Department states that the tax was properly owed to Illinois, not to 

Wisconsin and that no credit provision applies.  Tr. pp. 21, 22. 

 The only credit even remotely analogous to the credit the taxpayer seeks is 

provided at section 3-55(d) of the UTA, 35 ILCS 105/3-55(d) which states as follows: 

§ 3-55.  Multistate exemption.  The tax imposed by this Act does not 
apply to the use of tangible personal property in this State under the 
following circumstances:    
… 
(d) The use, in this State, of tangible personal property that is acquired 

outside this State and caused to be brought into this State by a 
person who has already paid a tax in another State in respect to the 
sale, purchase, or use of that property, to the extent of the amount 
of the tax properly due and paid in the other State. 

35 ILCS 105/3-55(d) 
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Pursuant to this measure, a credit against the UTA is allowed on property acquired 

outside the state and brought into Illinois, to the extent of taxes properly paid on the sale, 

purchase, or use of the property in another state.  This credit is inapplicable to the facts at 

issue here because the property at issue was not acquired outside of Illinois and brought 

into this state but, rather, was acquired in Illinois and taken outside of this state.  

 In sum, there is no provision that allows for a credit to be granted in a case such 

as this, that is, when an Illinois resident purchases and has delivered to her in Illinois a 

motor vehicle that she subsequently has titled in Wisconsin.  Since the “right to a refund 

or credit can only arise from the acts of the legislature” (Jones v. Department of Revenue, 

60 Ill. App. 3d 886, 889 (1st Dist. 1978)), unless there is an authorizing statutory 

provision allowing for a credit for any use tax the taxpayer may have paid for the motor 

vehicle in Wisconsin, none can be allowed.   

  Wherefore, for the reasons stated above, it is recommended that Notice of Tax 

Liability number 00 0000000000000 at issue in this case be finalized as issued. 

 

      Ted Sherrod 
      Administrative Law Judge  
Date: March 4, 2009        
  
 


