lllinois Department of Revenue
Regulations

[Title 86 Part 420 Section 420.10 Gallonage Taxes

TITLE 86: REVENUE

PART 420
LIQUOR CONTROL ACT

Section 420.10 Gallonage Taxes

a)

Measure of Tax

1)

Tax Imposed

A)

B)

Until September 1, 2009, a tax is imposed upon the privilege of engaging
in business as a manufacturer or as an importing distributor of alcoholic
liquor at the rate of 73¢ per gallon for wine containing less than 20% of
alcohol by volume other than cider containing less than 7% alcohol by
volume; 18.5¢ per gallon on beer; 18.5¢ per gallon for cider containing not
less than 0.5% alcohol by volume nor more than 7% alcohol by volume;
and $4.50 per gallon on alcoholic liquor having 20% or more of alcohol by
volume, manufactured or imported for sale or use by such manufacturer,
or as agent for any other person, or purchased tax-free for sale or use by
such manufacturer, or as agent for any other person, or imported for sale
or use by such importing distributor, or as agent for any other person, or
purchased tax-free for sale or use by such importing distributor, or as
agent for any other person.

Beginning September 1, 2009, a tax is imposed upon the privilege of
engaging in business as a manufacturer or as an importing distributor of
alcoholic liquor.

) The tax shall be at the following rates:

° $1.39 per gallon for wine containing less than 20% of
alcohol by volume other than cider containing less than 7%
alcohol by volume;

° 23.1¢ per gallon on beer;

° 23.1¢ per gallon for cider containing not less than 0.5%
alcohol by volume nor more than 7% alcohol by volume; and

° $8.55 per gallon on alcoholic liquor containing 20% or more
of alcohol by volume.



b)

2)

i) The tax applies to alcoholic liquor:

° manufactured, imported or purchased tax-free for sale or
use by the manufacturer, or as agent for any other person;
or

° imported or purchased tax-free for sale or use by the

importing distributor, or as agent for any other person. (See
235 ILCS 5/8-1.)

For purposes of this Section, "cider" means any alcoholic beverage obtained by
the alcohol fermentation of the juice of apples or pears including, but not limited
to, flavored, sparkling, or carbonated cider. [235 ILCS 5/8-1]

Persons Liable for Tax

1)

2)

3)

Sales of alcoholic liquor by an lllinois licensed foreign importer to an lllinois
licensed importing distributor of alcoholic liquor are not taxable even if both
licenses are held by the same legal entity.

Where one licensed manufacturer or importing distributor sells alcoholic liquor to
another licensed manufacturer or importing distributor, the sale may be made
tax-free to the extent to which the sale of alcoholic liquor by one lIllinois licensed
manufacturer or importing distributor to another Illinois licensed manufacturer or
importing distributor is authorized by the licensing provisions of Article V of the
Act. When the sale is made tax-free, the purchasing manufacturer or importing
distributor is responsible for paying the proper tax unless the purchaser sells the
alcoholic liquor that he or she has bought tax-free to another licensed
manufacturer or importing distributor under circumstances authorized by the
licensing provisions of the Act and elects not to pay the tax. This procedure may
be continued until a licensed manufacturer or importing distributor sells the
alcoholic liquor to someone not licensed as a manufacturer or importing
distributor, in which event, if the tax liability has not been assumed previously,
the manufacturer or importing distributor who makes the sale to a purchaser not
licensed as a manufacturer or importing distributor must pay the proper tax when
filing his or her return for the month in which he or she makes the taxable sale
unless there is some other basis for claiming tax exemption, such as the fact that
the sale is in interstate commerce (see Section 420.30) or that the sale is made
to a non-beverage user (see Sections 420.500 and 420.110(b)).

The application form for a winery shipper's license filed under the Act includes an
acknowledgement consenting to the jurisdiction of the Liquor Control
Commission, the Department, and the courts of this State concerning the
enforcement of the Act and any related laws, rules and regulations, including
authorizing the Department and the Liquor Control Commission to conduct audits
for the purpose of ensuring compliance with the Act. A winery shipper licensee
must pay to the Department the State liquor gallonage tax under Section 8-1 of
the Act for all wine that is sold by the licensee and shipped to a person in this
State. For the purposes of Section 8-1 of the Act, a winery shipper licensee shall
be taxed in the same manner as a manufacturer of wine. A winery shipper
licensee who is not otherwise required to register under the Retailers'
Occupation Tax Act [35 ILCS 120] must register under the Use Tax Act [35 ILCS



4)

105] to collect and remit use tax to the Department for all gallons of wine that are
sold by the winery shipper licensee and shipped to persons in this State. If a
winery shipper licensee fails to remit the tax imposed under the Act in
accordance with the provisions of Article VIII of the Act, the winery shipper's
license shall be revoked in accordance with the provisions of Article VII of the
Act. If a winery shipper licensee fails to properly register and remit tax under the
Use Tax Act or the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act for all wine that is sold by the
winery shipper licensee and shipped to persons in this State, the winery
shipper's license shall be revoked in accordance with the provisions of Article VII
of the Act. A winery shipper licensee must collect, maintain and submit to the
Liquor Control Commission on a semiannual basis the total number of cases per
resident of wine shipped to residents of this State. [235 ILCS 5/5-1(r)]

If any person received any alcoholic liquors from a manufacturer or importing
distributor, with respect to which alcoholic liquors no tax is imposed under Article
VIII of the Act, and that alcoholic liquor is thereafter disposed of in such a
manner or under such circumstances as may cause that alcoholic liquor to
become the base for the tax imposed by Article VIl of the Act, that person shall
make the same reports and returns, pay the same taxes and be subject to all
other provisions of that Article relating to manufacturers and importing
distributors. [235 ILCS 5/8-1]

The tax imposed under Section 8-1 of the Act shall be in addition to all other occupation
or privilege taxes imposed by the State of Illinois or any political subdivision of the
State. [235 ILCS 5/8-1].

(Source: Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. 14701, effective October 22, 2015)



