
General Information
Who must file Form RC-6-A-X?
You must file Form RC-6-A-X to correct 
your original return or a previously filed 
amended return. You must attach any 
supporting schedules or documentation.

What penalties may I owe?
You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not 
file a processable return by the due date.  
We will bill you for penalties and interest, 
if applicable. For more information about 
penalties and interest, see Publication 
103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois 
Taxes, available on our website at 
tax.illinois.gov.

Mail your completed Form RC-6-A-X and 
attachments to:

ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FUEL DIVISION
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19019
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9019

Form RC-6-A-X can be filed electronically 
using MyTax Illinois, available on our 
website at tax.illinois.gov. 

If you have questions, write us at the 
address above or call us weekdays from 
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at 217 782-6045.

What records must I keep?
You must keep, at your licensed address, 
complete and accurate records of 
cigarettes and little cigars you held, 
purchased, manufactured, brought in 
or caused to be brought into Illinois and 
then sold or otherwise disposed of. You 
must also keep all invoices, bills of lading, 
sales records, copies of bills of sale, 
inventory at the close of each month of all 
cigarettes and little cigars on hand and of 
all cigarette tax stamps, both affixed and 
unaffixed, and other pertinent papers and 
documents relating to the purchase, sale, 
or disposition of cigarettes or little cigars.

Such books, records, papers, and 
documents must be available for 
inspection during business hours by us or 
our authorized agent and employees and 
be preserved for at least three years.

What other penalties may be 
imposed?
If you affix counterfeit stamps, sell, or 
offer to sell cigarettes or little cigars with 
counterfeit stamps affixed, you are guilty of 
a Class 2 felony.

Form RC-6-A-X Instructions
If you do not keep the required records or 
if you falsify those records, you are guilty 
of a Class 4 felony. If you do not safely 
preserve the required records for a period 
of three years or do not allow us to inspect 
them, you are guilty of a business offense 
and may be fined up to $1,500.

If you make, file, render, sign, or verify 
any false or fraudulent report or act as a 
distributor of original cigarette or little cigar 
packages without a license, you are guilty 
of a Class 4 felony.

Step-by-Step Instructions
Step 2: Report your stock
Line 8 – From Schedule CC or Form 
RC-6-A-W,  Out-of-State Cigarette and 
Little Cigar Revenue Return Worksheet, 
enter the number of cigarettes and little 
cigars you purchased with an Illinois 
stamp affixed to the original package at 
the time of purchase. 

Line 10 – From Schedule CH, enter 
the total number of little cigars that are 
reportable on Line 8 of Form RC-55, 
Unstamped Little Cigar Sticks Tax Return, 
or any other necessary deductions. See 
Schedule CH instructions for additional 
information.

Line 11 – From Schedule CK, enter the 
number of unstamped cigarettes and little 
cigars shipped from a point outside Illinois 
to a point inside of Illinois.

Line 12 – Total number of Illinois stamped 
cigarettes and little cigars shipped into 
Illinois as reported on Schedule CL. 

Line 13 – Effective June 24, 2012, the 
mill rate is 99 mills ($0.099) per stick. Use 
this rate to figure the tax due. However, if 
Step 2, Line 12, includes cigarettes or little 
cigars sold at “old” or multiple mill rates, 
you will need to figure the amount for Line 
13 by completing Form RC-6-A-W. 

Step 3: Report your Illinois 
cigarette revenue stamp usage
Line 14 – Gross value (do not deduct 
any discount allowed on invoices) of 
all Illinois stamps, whether affixed to 
original packages or loose, on hand at the 
beginning of the month for which you are 
filing this return.

Line15 – Total value of unaffixed stamps 
transferred from another licensed 
distributor.

Line 16 – Gross value of all Illinois stamps 
you purchased from us during the month.

Line 17 – Figure the gross value of 
all Illinois stamps that were affixed to 
original packages of cigarettes and little 
cigars when you purchased or otherwise 
acquired them as reported on Schedule 
CC.
Effective June 24, 2012, the mill rate 
is 99 mills ($0.099) per stick. Use this 
rate to figure the value of stamps affixed 
to original packages when purchased. 
However, if Step 2, Line 8, includes 
cigarettes or little cigars purchased at 
“old” or multiple mill rates, you will need 
to figure the amount for Line 17 by 
completing Form RC-6-A-W. 
Line 19 – Total value of unaffixed stamps 
transferred to another licensed distributor.
Note: All stamp transfers must be ap-
proved by the department prior to the 
transfer.

Line 23 – Total value of all Illinois stamps 
affixed to original packages of cigarettes 
or little cigars on hand at the end of the 
month as reported on Schedule CF or 
Form RC-6-A-W.

Line 24 – Gross value of all Illinois stamps 
not affixed to original packages on hand 
at the end of the month as reported on    
Schedule CF or Form RC-6-A-W.

Returned merchandise
If you returned cigarettes or little 
cigars with Illinois stamps affixed to an 
out-of-state manufacturer, report the 
number of sticks on Line 9 and the value 
of the stamps on Line 20. If you return 
unaffixed stamps to us, also report the 
value of these stamps on Line 20.

When an original package bearing an 
Illinois cigarette tax stamp is returned to 
you, report the return as a purchase with 
stamps affixed on Schedule CC.

Step 4:  Mark the reason why 
you are filing an amended 
return
Check the best description of why you are 
completing Form RC-6-A-X. 

Note: If you checked “Other” and you are 
a party to a civil suit, involving the amount 
claimed, enter the name of the suit on the 
line provided.
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