
CMFT-1 Instr.  (R-11/09)

Form CMFT-1 - General Information
Who must fi le Form CMFT-1?
You must fi le a Form CMFT-1, County Motor Fuel Tax Return, if you 
made retail sales of motor fuel within DuPage, Kane, or McHenry 
County. 

When must I fi le my return?
You must fi le this return, along with any payment you owe, on or 
before the 20th day of the month following the end of the liability 
period.  Your reporting period is the same as the period for fi ling your 
Form ST-1.

Note: If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, your payment is 
due the next business day.

What if I have multiple sites?
If you make retail sales of motor fuel from more than one site within 
DuPage, Kane, or McHenry County, you must also complete and 
attach Form CMFT-2, Multiple Site Form, to your Form CMFT-1.

What if I add or discontinue one of my sites or 
change locations?
You must contact the Central Registration Division by calling 
217 785-3707 or writing us at: 

CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
PO BOX 19030 
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9030

It is important to keep your registration information                              
updated so your returns will include the correct tax rates.

 What if I need help?
If you need help, call the Illinois Department of Revenue at 
1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336, call our TDD-telecommunications 
device for the deaf at 1 800 544-5304, or visit our web site at 
tax.illinois.gov.      

Can I computer-generate my own form?
In general, you must use forms prescribed by the Illinois Department 
of Revenue. Separate statements not on forms provided or approved 
by the department will not be accepted and you will  be asked for 
appropriate documentation. 

You must have our approval before you can use 
any form other than the one we send you. Failure 
to comply with this requirement may result in the 
delay of processing your return or generating any 
credit. If you would like to computer generate your 
own form, send a sample to:

OFFICE OF PUBLICATION MANAGEMENT (3-375)
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
101 WEST JEFFERSON
SPRINGFIELD IL 62702

Specifi c Instructions

Note: When completing this form, round your dollar amounts to the 
nearest whole dollar by dropping amounts less than 50 cents and 
increasing amounts of 50 cents or more to the next higher dollar. 

Step 2: Figure your net tax and discount
Line 5
If you have more than one site, you will need to complete Form 
CMFT-2 before completing Form CMFT-1. If you do not have a 
preprinted form CMFT-2, visit Tax Rate Finder on our web site at 
tax.illinois.gov to verify your rate.
 
Line 6 
If this return is fi led and paid by the due date, you are entitled to a 
discount. Multiply Line 5 by the percentage printed on Line 6. 

Step 3: Figure your payment due
Line 10
If we have notifi ed you that you have credit and you wish to use it 
towards what you owe, write the amount you are using on Line 10.

Line 11 
Subtract Line 10 from Line 9. Write the result on Line 11. This is the 
amount due.

Step 4:  Sign below
An owner, partner, offi cer, or authorized agent of the business must 
sign the return. 

Penalty and Interest Information
You owe a late fi ling penalty if you do not fi le a processable return 
by the due date, a late payment penalty if you do not pay the 
amount you owe by the original due date of the return, a bad check 
penalty if your remittance is not honored by your fi nancial institution, 
and a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount you owe 
within 30 days after a bill has been issued. We will bill you for any 
amounts owed. For more information, see Publication 103, Penalties 
and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this publication, 
visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov.   




