
This bulletin serves as a reminder to
all taxpayers mandated by law to
make Sales and Use Tax payments
by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).
This includes both return payments
(Form ST-1) and quarter-monthly
payments (Form RR-3).

You do not have the option of making
your payments by mail or any other
means, other than Automated Clear-
ing House debit (ACH debit) or Auto-
mated Clearing House credit (ACH
credit), and Fedwire, allowed only in
case of an emergency. In addition, if
we receive your payment after the due
date, we will assess a late-payment
penalty.

What is EFT?
EFT is an electronic payment method
that you use to pay your tax liabilities.
Instead of writing a check for the
amount of tax due, you authorize
financial institutions to deduct funds
from your bank account and credit to
ours.

EFT only changes the manner in
which certain types of tax payments
are made. It does not change the due
dates when tax payments and tax
returns are required to be filed.

Who is mandated to use
EFT?
You must participate in the EFT
program if your annual Sales and Use
Tax liability is $200,000 or more.

What EFT payment options
do I have?
You have two primary options for
payment by EFT, along with one
emergency backup option. These are:

Automated Clearing House Debit
(ACH debit);

Automated Clearing House Credit
(ACH credit); and

Fedwire, only as an emergency
backup option.

ACH debit is the electronic transfer of
funds from your account when you
instruct our data collection service to
transfer the funds. The funds then
clear the ACH and are deposited in
our account.

ACH credit is an electronic transfer
that occurs when you tell your own
financial institution to originate an
entry for deposit in our account. We
recommend that you contact your
bank to determine what ACH services
they offer before you choose this
option.

Fedwire is an option we offer only as
an emergency backup. If for some
reason you are unable to initiate an
ACH debit or ACH credit in order to be
considered timely, Fedwire is the only
alternative electronic method available
to avoid late-payment penalty and
interest.

What happens if my
payment is not deposited
by the due date?
If your payment is not deposited by the
due date, we will assess a late-pay-
ment penalty of up to 15 percent.
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For information
or forms...

To:
Taxpayers mandated to make Sales and Use Tax
payments by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

Call us at:
1 800 732-8866 or

217 782-3336

Call our TDD
(telecommunications device
for the deaf) at:

1 800 544-5304

Write us at:
Illinois Department of Revenue

P.O. Box 19044

Springfield, IL 62794-9044

Visit our Web site at:
www.ILtax.com

Call
“Illinois Tax Fax,” our

fax-on-demand service, at:

217 785-3400

Call
our 24-hour

Forms Order Line at:

1 800 356-6302

Glen L. Bower
Director of Revenue
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