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  Illinois Department of Revenue

  ST-4-X Amended MPEA Food and Beverage Tax Return Information  
          and Instructions

Who must fi le Form ST-4-X?
You must fi le Form ST-4-X if you fi led Form ST-4, MPEA Food and 
Beverage Tax Return, and

 •  you want to correct your MPEA Food and Beverage Tax return, 
either to pay more tax or to request a credit for tax you overpaid; 
or

 •  you are making corrections to the nonfi nancial information on 
your return.

Do not fi le Form ST-4-X for amounts of less than $1.

You must fi le one Form ST-4-X for each reporting period you want to 
amend. For example, if you fi le Form ST-4 monthly, you must fi le one 
Form ST-4-X for each month you are amending. You cannot fi le one 
ST-4-X to amend several months. Likewise, if you fi le Form ST-4 on a 
quarterly or annual basis, you must fi le one amended return for each 
quarter or year that you want to amend.

If you originally fi led Form ST-7, Multiple Site Form, you must fi le 
Form ST-7-X, Amended Multiple Site Form, for the locations whose 
fi gures need to be amended and attach it to Form ST-4-X. For 
those locations with no change, we will use the most recent fi gures 
fi led. Failure to fi le Form ST-7-X will delay the processing of your 
Form ST-4-X or your changes will not be accepted.  

Note:  If you received a notice from us that your original return is  
unprocessable, we cannot process an amended return (claim for 
credit) until you respond to the notice. Also, if you are requesting a 
credit, you will not be able to use it until we notify you that your credit 
has been approved.

What is the deadline for fi ling this form?
The deadline for fi ling to obtain a credit for an overpayment of MPEA 
Food and Beverage Tax changes semiannually on January 1 and 
July 1. If you fi le this amended return between January 1 and 

June 30 of this year, you may fi le a claim for credit for the amounts 
you overpaid during the current year and the previous 36 months. 
Beginning July 1, you may fi le a claim for credit for the amounts you 
overpaid during the current year and the previous 30 months.

Note: We use the U.S. Postal Service postmark date as the  fi ling 
date of a properly signed amended return (claim for credit).
If you are making an additional payment, there is no deadline; 
however, the longer you wait to pay, the more interest and, when 
applicable, penalty you will owe.

How do I get forms?
If you need additional amended returns, you may photocopy a blank 
return, or visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov, or call our 24-hour 
Forms Order Line at 1 800 356-6302

How do I get help?
Visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call weekdays between 8 a.m. 
and 5 p.m. at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336. The number for our 
TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) is 1 800 544-5304.  

If you have a specifi c question about an amended return you have 
already fi led, call us at 217 782-7517 or write us at

SALES TAX PROCESSING DIVISION
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19013
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9013

To what address do I mail my completed return?
Mail your completed return to:
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19034
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794

General Instructions

Which steps of this form must I complete?
Everyone must complete Steps 1, 2, and 4. You must also complete 
Step 3 if you are changing fi nancial information. 

Step 1: Identify your business
Write your Illinois account ID as it appears on your original           
Form ST-4. Also, write the reporting period for which you are fi ling the 
amended return. Next, write the name of your business as it appears 
on your original return. 

Step 2: Mark the reason you are fi ling an amended return
Mark the reason that best explains why you are fi ling Form ST-4-X.

If you checked Reason 2a (sales made to another Illinois business 
for resale), you must also write the business’ account ID on the line 
provided. If you sold food and beverages to more than one business, 
write each business’ account ID on a separate sheet, and attach it to 
your return. 

If you checked Reason 2c (sales made to an exempt organization), you 
must write the tax-exempt “E” number we issued on the line provided. 
If you sold food and beverages to more than one organization, write 

Specifi c Instructions
each organization’s tax-exempt number on a separate sheet and 
attach it to your return. Note: The organization’s tax-exempt number 
must have been in effect on the day you made the sale.
If you checked Reason 2e (other), please explain the reason for 
the tax exemption on the lines provided. Attach additional sheets if 
necessary.

If you checked Reason 6, you must write the correct account ID. 

If you checked Reason 7, you must write the correct reporting period.

Check Reason 8 only if Reasons 1 through 7 do not apply. Please 
explain why you are correcting your original return on the lines 
provided. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Step 3: Correct your fi nancial information
Complete all applicable lines when making corrections to the 
fi nancial information on your return. If you do not complete all lines, 
we will use the most recent fi gures fi led. This includes Form ST-7-X. 
You will need to include only the locations that have a change. For 
those locations with no change, the most recent fi gures fi led will be used. 

Drop amounts of less than 50 cents and increase amounts of 50 
cents or more to the next higher dollar. 
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Column A
Lines 1 through 10:  Write the fi gures from your most recent return. 
These fi gures may be from your original Form ST-4 or from any 
corrections you have made since you fi led your original Form ST-4.

Column B
Lines 1 through 10: Write the corrected fi gures. If there is no change 
from Column A, write the fi gures from Column A.

Note: If you have an amount written in Column A that you are 
reducing to zero, write “0” in Column B. Leaving the line in Column B 
blank may delay the processing of your return.

Detailed instructions for certain lines in Step 3

Line 5
Complete this line only if you originally fi led on time. If you fi led 
timely, fi gure your discount at the rate of 1.75 percent (.0175) of the 
amount you paid on time.

If you are increasing the amount of tax due, you may not increase 
the amount of your discount unless the increased tax due is paid on 
or before the due date of your original return. 

If you are decreasing the amount of tax due, you will need to refi gure 
the amount of discount to which you are entitled based on your new 
fi gures.

Line 11
Write the total amount you have paid. This number includes the
amount you paid with your original Form ST-4, any subsequent 
amended returns, and any assessment payments you have made for 
this reporting period. Be sure to reduce the total paid by any credit or 
refund of tax you have received for this liability period.

Line 12
If Line 11 is greater than Line 10, Column B, write the difference on 
Line 12. The difference is the amount you overpaid. 

Line 13
If Line 11 is less than Line 10, Column B, write the difference on 
Line 13. This amount is your underpayment. Please pay this amount 
at the time you fi le this return. We will bill you for any additional tax, 
penalty, and interest that is due. 

Please write the amount you are paying on the line provided in the 
“Read this information fi rst” section on the front of the return.

Step 4: Sign below
We cannot process this form until it is signed by the owner, offi cer, or 
other person authorized to sign the original return.

Penalty and Interest Information

If, on this amended return, you are increasing the amount of tax 
due, we will bill you for any additional penalty and interest that we 
calculate is due.

If, on this amended return, you are reducing the amount of tax due, 
we will recalculate any penalty and interest that is due and include 
the recomputed amounts in determining the amount you have 
overpaid.

You owe a late fi ling penalty if you do not fi le a processable 
return by the due date, a late payment penalty if you do not pay 
the amount you owe by the original due date of the return or were 
required to make quarter-monthly payments and failed to do so, 
a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
fi nancial institution, and a cost of collection fee if you do not pay 
the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on a notice 
or bill. For more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and 
Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this publication, visit 
our web site at tax.illinos.gov or call our 24-hour Forms Order Line 
at 1 800-356-6302. 


